Cooking Class- Recreating Comfort Food


Last week I was fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to attend Ismaya Hands-on cooking class with the theme Recreating Comfort Food. The event held at Ismaya Catering Cafe, Grand Indonesia Shopping Town, West Mall-Level 5.

I arrived to Chef Tristan and Ismaya staff preparing the ingredients for the class. I came a bit early and class has not started because still waiting for the other participants. While waiting I ordered caramel latte and it was perfect because I haven’t had my coffee this morning.

Tristan Balian who led the class, is an Executive Chef at Social House, Jakarta. Tristan Balian is an Australian chef of Armenian background. Before coming to Indonesia he has worked at Longrain Restaurant and Bar in Sydney. He is so fun to be around and he is such a good teacher. He is very friendly, always encouraged participants and happy to answer any questions we had.


Fifteen people in total were greeted, warmly into the restaurant, and invited to choose table. The first dish we cook was Eggs Benedict. Component of the dish was sourdough bread, smoked salmon, emmental cheese, poached egg and hollandaise sauce. First of all we were taught how to make hollandaise sauce.and then poaching eggs. I think the most crucial thing from making eggs benedict is smooth, warm and creamy hollandaise sauce. This eggs benedict then served with sautéed mushroom, turkey bacon, roasted tomatoes and rocket salad.

The second dish was Ricotta hot cakes. The whisked white eggs and soft creamy ricotta give these pancakes light and fluffy texture. These pancakes then served with honeycomb butter and shaved milk chocolate on top. Warm and fluffy pancakes eaten with melted honeycomb butter it such a perfect combination. I’ve often made pancakes but I totally prefer these from the other ones. I will definitely make this pancake every time I have a gloomy morning.

Besides good food and coffee I think what made this class special because the new friend I met. I wanna thank to the entire team of Ismaya. The servers were courteous and the chef were friendly. Surely for me it was a Saturday morning well spent.


Leave a Reply

