Cinnamon Buns

Cinnamon Buns edit

Last night seemed like a bad dream, people celebrated New Year’s eve but it sounds like they are having war outside. The sounds of trumpets and firecrackers still buzzing in my ears. The sun rises, I woke up from my sleep still wishing I had a better sleep last night. But I crawled out of the bed and blearily stumbled into the shower. The rain finally stopped, even though the weather was not so bright but I could see the sun peeking out from behind the clouds.

I’m a morning person and I’ve no interest in New Year’s Eve celebration. Resolutions, perhaps the only part of new year celebration that I took part in it. I never make a list of what I want to do next year. Simply, I just want to living well. This not because I am not grateful with what life has given to me. I’ve tried to be a good person, but sometimes a person such as myself can make a stupid mistake and hurt others. So to show my gratitude for a chance at life and to make up for my mistakes in the past years, I want to be a better person this year, put more self-discipline and give unconditionally love to people around me.

Cinnamon Buns close




  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 3/4 cup scalded milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting


  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup raisins


  • 3 ounce cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 vanilla extract


  • In a small bowl, combine warm water, yeast and 1 tsp sugar. Stir to dissolve and set aside.
  • Mix the melted butter, milk, sugar, salt, egg, and egg yolk together in a large bowl. Add 2 cups flour and mix until smooth. Add the yeast mixture and remaining flour, mix again until smooth. The dough should barely firm enough to knead.
  • Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead for 3 to 5 minutes until smooth and elastic, adding a little flour if necessary. Shape the dough into a ball, put it in a greased bowl, top side down, and turn the dough over in a bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, about 1 or 2 hours.
  • When doubled in size, punch down the dough. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface, cover and let rest for 10 minutes. In a small bowl combine brown sugar and cinnamon.
  • Roll dough out into a 15 by 9-inch rectangle. Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar mixture and raisins. Starting with the long side, role up the dough into a cylinder and pinch edge together to seal.. Cut into 12 to 15 slices.
  • Place rolls in a lightly greased baking pan and let rise until dough is doubled, about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 F. Bake until golden, 30 to 35 minutes.
  • Meanwhile beat together cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla. Spread frosting on warm rolls before serving.

Cinnamon Buns Up 02

Leave a Reply

