Caramelised Onion and Mushroom Panini

Mushroom Panini 02

I missed kitchen, missed my old life and my old routine. Working has eating up all my time lately and I rarely have a time to cook, but last week I found this pretty bread and mushroom in a local supermarket in Jakarta. I decide to make a mushroom sandwich because recently I addicted with mushroom and smoked chicken panini from that famous coffee shop.

I have a secret affair with mushroom. I love all kinds of mushrooms- enoki, shiitake, cremini, chanterelle, portobello, cloud ear mushroom, etc.

Mushroom Panini 03

Ingredients:

  • 2 piece foccacia or ciabatta, halved lengthwise
  • 150 g mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and black pepper

caramelized onion

  • 1 large sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar, optional
  • salt and pepper

Method

  • Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion and stir to coat the onions with oil. Sprinkle some salt, pepper, and sugar over the onions. Lower the heat and cook the onion until they caramelize and brown, stirring every few minutes.
  • Heat olive oil in a nonstick frying pan over medium heat. Add the mushrooms and cook on medium-high heat for about 3-5 minutes until browning, add thyme and cook for another 1 minute. Turn off the heat and season to taste.
  • Slice the bread horizontally, and drizzle with olive oil. Place half of the mushroom mixture and top with some caramelized onion, and cheese. Put the tops on and slightly press the sandwich to flatten it slightly, drizzle the olive oil outside of sandwich
  • Place each sandwich on preheated panini press, cook over medium-low heat for about 5 minutes or until cheese has melted and the bread is crisp.

Mushroom Panini

Leave a comment