Braised Red Cabbage with Apple and Balsamic Vinegar

Braised Red Cabbage

Last week I saw a sexy red cabbage in a local market was sold in a really cheap price, without thinking twice I bought 2 head big cabbage. I ate red cabbage slaw 3 days in a row- I made asian version without mayo and ate it with grilled chicken and classic version with mayo, then I add it to my fried noodles, minced it and add it for potsticker stuffing. And I still have more than enough red cabbage to feed me for a whole month.

Yesterday I still had that sexy big head red cabbage sitting nicely on my fridge, and I just feel like no more red cabbage for me until I found this Jamie Oliver’s braised red cabbage. I skip the bacon and butter because I’m running out of butter and by the time I finish cook this braised red cabbage, I can’t wait to stuff it into my mouth. I made a simple and easy beef schnitzel to accompany this braised cabbage.

Braised Red Cabbage03


  • 1 kg red cabbage, outer leaves and cored removed, and sliced
  • 1 onion, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 450g cooking apples, peeled, cored, and chopped small
  • 150 ml balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon fennel seeds
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • olive oil
  • sea salt and black pepper


  • In a large heavy-bottomed pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add fennel seeds, cook until golden then add the onion and cook until onion softens and the edges begin to brown, about 5 to 6 minutes.
  • Add apple, cabbage, balsamic vinegar and season with salt and pepper, stir everything together.
  • Cover and cook on a low heat until cabbage is tender, about an hour. Checking and stirring occasionally.
  • Stir in butter and sprinkle with parsley


Leave a Reply

