Spices Chocolate Cake

Chocolate cake

The turning point in the process of growing up is when you discover the core of strength within you that survives all hurts. ~Max Lerner

I had a dreams, not a sweet dreams or the bad one…it just a series of weird dreams. Every dream has a bits of memories from the past about very familiar places and faces. It felt so strange because I could feel their presence in my dreams but they never there. I could smell their perfumes, hear their voices and calling their names but I never see their face.This is unfortunately something that occurs multiple times on any given night.

The absurdity of my dream it made my consciousness momentarily lurch. I’m longing for home, longing for a familiar feelings. I want to bury myself in a sweet memories and comfortable feelings like spices chocolate cake, a simple chocolate cake without a fancy names and decoration. Unconsciously I went to kitchen and preparing the ingredients for this cake.

Chocolate cake 2


  • 350 gr butter
  • 7 eggs
  • 425 gr sugar
  • 450 gr all-purpose flour
  • 70 gr unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 2 teaspoon spekkoek powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 400 ml milk
  • 2 tablespoon chopped pili nuts, optional


  • Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and spices. In a large bowl cream together butter, sugar and eggs with an electric mixer until thickened, about 15 minutes.
  • Add flour to the butter mixture alternately with milk. Beat on medium speed until smooth, about 5 minutes. Add chopped pili nuts and mix until combined.
  • Pour batter into well-greased and floured tube pan or mold. Bake for 15 minutes, then add another chopped pili nuts on top of the cake. Lower the heat and bake for another 25 minutes, or until the skewer inserted into a centre of the cake comes out clean.

Chocolate Cake 4

2 thoughts on “Spices Chocolate Cake

  1. Spekkoek powder and pili nuts are two ingredients with which I am not familiar. Can you give me some information about them?
    Perhaps I can find them in one of our many ethnic grocery stores. I’d love to make this cake.

    • Hi Gina,
      Spekkoek powder is a Dutch-Indonesian spices mixture. It usually made from an equal amount of cinnamon, ginger, and cardamom powder, half part of cloves and nutmeg powder. I think you can find it in Indonesian or Asian shops, or you can make your own blend. Happy cooking!


Leave a Reply

