A Soul Journey- Arabian Pancakes with Orange Honey Syrup

Soul Journey Dawn began to break, the crowing of a roosters break the silence. The sunlight pierce through the window curtain and gently kissing my eye lids. I opened my eyes as the sun start to rose higher in the sky. Today is a holiday and this morning was very quiet unlike any other mornings. No car honking or the noisy sounds from the street, all I could hear was a sounds of bird chirping. Everyone went on holiday, leaving me all alone in this big city.  What should I do with this quite time? After my morning routine of warm lemon water and  cold shower, I decided to drives around and do my grocery shopping. This this a time to test Agya, a brand new city car from Toyota. Agya is perfect for free lancer like me or first-time jobber like my brother, the price affordable and it low cost fuel, so you don’t have to worry you will be broke at the end of the month. img con_gal_thumb_D469F3D8BB36282389E909723238AAE7   IMG_5862 Before doing the shopping I decided to take a late breakfast at Sophie Authentique in Kemang. This cute French bakery is completed with a selection of sweets and savouries. After finishing my breakfast, I went to the bakery counter and bought a loaf baguette and a chocolate croissant to take home.

From Sophie Authentique then I headed to the supermarket in South Kemang. It located in Kemang Club Villa area. I hovered back and forth from one shelf to another self, trying to find all the items that I needed. Most of the time I grab something that interest me but I don’t really needed. Beside all the basic Ingredients and fruits that I need for my everyday meal, I had found some a gorgeous fresh clams, watermelon, unsalted pistachios, some fresh vegetables. I loaded the back of car with my groceries and flowers from the roadside sellers. I came home with a happy feeling and smiles on my face. I can’t afford for travelling but I feel grateful because I can still have a delicious breakfast and cook decent meal for my family. Collages5 Arabian Pancakes with Orange Honey Syrup This delicious pancakes is adapted from Nigella Lawson’s Arabian Pancakes Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons greek yogurt
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 1/4 teaspoon cardamom powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • A pinch of salt

Honey-orange syrup

  • 1 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • zest of 1 orange


  • Orange honey syrup- In a heavy bottomed sauce-pan combine together honey, water, and orange zest, stir to combine and let it boil. Once it boil add orange juice, turn down the heat a little and let it simmer for about 15 minutes or until it thickened.
  • Arabian Pancakes- Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, cardamom and cinnamon powder in a small bowl. Combine yogurt, milk, egg yolks, and vanilla essence in another large mixing bowl, mix to combine. Add the dry ingredients into a yogurt mixture, stirring until combined.
  • Beat the egg whites with a handheld electric mixer until stiff. Add 1/3 part of white egg into a pancake mixture and stir to combine. Add another part of egg whites mixtures and fold through the batter until just combine.
  • Heat a griddle and when hot add about 1/4 cup of batter. Cook the pancakes for about 3 minutes or until the underside is golden and you can see the bubble on top of pancakes. Flip the pancakes and cook for another 3 minutes. Repeat with the remaining pancakes. Serve the pancakes with chopped pistachios and orange-honey syrup.

Soul Journey2

3 thoughts on “A Soul Journey- Arabian Pancakes with Orange Honey Syrup

Leave a Reply

