The Dharmawangsa Afternoon Tea & Embracing My Femininity


The sound of the birds chirping outside my window, and for just one blissful moment I enjoy the warmth of the sunlight kissing my face gently. My phone buzzes when I crack my eyes open, I have afternoon tea reservation at The Dharmawangsa this afternoon.These days I’m preoccupied with how I’m not hanging out enough with my girlfriends and lost my feminine energy. Living in a modern era where women are required to be independent and allow to have man morality and attitude… as a way to survive the divine masculine inside me has grown stronger.

I’m sure as human beings we have both feminine and masculine sides, but I feel anxious about what I perceive at this state… I’m afraid that my divine feminine becomes small and altogether absent and I slowly turned into a man.

Afternoon Tea Dharmawangsa 02Afternoon Tea at The Dharmawangsa

It’s 3.15 pm when we arrived at The Dharmawangsa hotel. Located  in an upscale resident area in Kebayoran Baru from the outside The Dharmawangsa looks like a big luxurious house. On our arrival we were warmly greeted by the hotel staff.

As soon as we stepped into the hotel, the fragrant smells of jasmine fill the air. Walked through the hallway – which leading to the heart of hotel- I feel excited to see the wall adorned with beautiful artwork.


Majapahit hall as the heart of the hotel featuring a magnificent 14th-century Javanese temple as their centrepiece. The name of Majapahit itself has a very intimate connection with the Indonesian cultural and history. It was a great empire based in East Java from 13th to 15th century.

In the hall, you can see the musician playing Indonesian traditional instruments. The hall’s doorway lead to the 4 majestic lounges; Tea Lounges, The Library, Caviar Lounge and The Bar.


Afternoon tea is served in the tea lounge. Warm afternoon sunlight and scenic views of hotel’s courtyard are ideal for afternoon tea and more akin to a glamorous private residence.

As we seated we were handed the menu by our waiter, who expertly explaining about our options. The menu features an extensive selection of drink including coffee, local tea and traditional drink like bir pletok. Tea selection including the usual suspect like English Breakfast and Earl Grey, and selection of rare and unusual teas from Jing Tea company.

Afternoon Tea Dharmawangsa

The English High Tea Set (IDR 235++) features a freshly baked raisin scone served with clotted cream and jam, mini sandwiches and delicious selection of dessert.

We opted for International High Tea Set (IDR 315++) and blackcurrant and hibiscus tea for the drink. Classic afternoon tea treats served in a striking two-tiered stand and long tray which includes jajan pasar (Indonesian delicacies) and a freshly baked scone.


Afternoon tea concludes with a selection of pastries, which include shortbread cookies, a strawberry and vanilla pannacotta, and pralines. The traditional finger sandwiches replaced with slider filled with smoked salmon, an open sandwich of roasted bell pepper and aubergine, and sliders full of mildly spicy tender beef.

Overall, The Dharmawangsa and in particular, Majapahit Lounge is the perfect place to enjoy afternoon tea and replace my energy. And the selection of Indonesian delicacies adds a nice touch of tradition to the afternoon tea ritual which is usually associating with western culture.


Majapahit Lounge - The Dharmawangsa Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

