Gingerbread Cake with Cacao Nibs and White Chocolate-Ginger Glaze

gingerbread-cake-with-ginger-and-white-chocolate-glaze

I had my second cup of coffee when I write this blog post. It was very quiet outside, it seems the whole Jakarta still asleep after stayed up all night long. Last night I didn’t celebrate New Year’s Eve, just like last year and a few years earlier. 

gingerbread-cake-recipe

Not that I hate, I just can’t find the benefits of New Year’s Eve celebration.Rather than partying all night I prefer to get up early and do something useful at the beginning of this year.Delicious cake with a cup of coffee, soothing music and a good book can be a good beginning for me.

Start a new year with sweet treats and peaceful morning is like a ritual for me. At first, I want to make Sticky Toffee Pudding. But then I think I want my 2017 not only delicious and sweet, but I also want a punch of flavours.

Gingerbread Cake with White Chocolate and Ginger Glaze

This recipe inspired by Nigella Lawson’s Guinness Gingerbread recipe. But I don’t have treacle or molasses at the time so I replaced it with dark honey. To give it some extra kick I add fresh ginger, while candied ginger and cacao nibs give some crunchy texture.

Ingredients

  • 260 grams all-purpose flour
  • 113 grams butter
  • 340 grams honey (preferably dark honey)
  • 220 grams brown sugar
  • 118 ml water
  • 10 grams fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated
  • 15 grams candied ginger, minced
  • 30 grams cacao nib
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 287 grams sour cream
  • 2 eggs

Method

  • Preheat oven to 325 F and place rack in centre of oven. Butter and lightly flour 9×9 baking dish.
  • Put the butter, honey, brown sugar ,and water in a medium sauce pot. Melt gently over medium heat. Once the butter is melted take the pot off the heat, and let it cool slightly.
  • Sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, ginger and nutmeg. Set aside
  • Whisk the eggs and sour cream together in a measuring jug. Once the honey mixture reach room temperature add the dry ingredients (in three addition) alternately with the  eggs mixture. Beat until no lumps.
  • Stir in candied ginger, and cacao nibs, mix just until combine. Pour the batter into prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into centre of cake comes out clean.
  • Remove from the oven and let it cool in pan for 5 minutes before turning onto wire rack and cool completely.
  • White chocolate & ginger glaze: put the chopped white chocolate and ground ginger on a double boiler. Let it melt on a medium heat, stir until smooth. Pour the glaze onto the centre of the cake and spread with an offset spatula. Sprinkle with cacao nibs or chopped walnuts.
Leave a Reply

